top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureno168plastic

★



Dinner:

I used up the leftover pasta we bought and covered it in tomato sauce that came in a glass bottle. I also used nuts to imitate parmesan cheese as I could not find any without plastic.


Day3:


I made pancakes for breakfast with maple syrup that came in a small glass bottle. As it is a school day I prepare by filling up my Chilly's bottle with water. I packed a banana as a snack.


For lunch I ate at school which we will be doing an investigation into later. Hopefully finding less plastic products then we are expecting. We know that the school uses plastic cups to collect water into for the students (single and multi-use) which we are hopefully finding a solution for.


Dinner was very simple with eggs and other vegetables. I also had to wash my hair again and I am beginning to realise that as much as the mixture of baking powder might be good for the environment it does not work for hair style.


Day 4:

Today I started the day off with having a shower when I came across again the problem of shower gel. This is when I came across this website that had so many of the products we had needed through out the week.




If you click on this photo it will take you to their website.


This photo is from https://www.theplasticfreeshop.co.uk/.



I had cereal that I found at a shop further from where I live where they had a cardboard box without the plastic packaging inside.


*Lunch at school*



Dinner: I made myself cauliflower soup out of fresh cauliflowers I found at a local store. this is a good way to avoid plastic in vegetables-go find a fresh market where products are collected locally.


Day 5:


Orange tree in my garden!

Wednesday came around and are were more than halfway through the challenge. I have been rotating between the only foods that are available plastic free, eggs, cauliflower and other vegetables and pasta.


For breakfast I had freshly picked orange juice and eggs with avocado. Avocado has definitely become an everyday food after I started the challenge.


Again we had lunch at school avoiding any butter packets and making a difference as much as possible.

For dinner I made myself roast vegetables and homemade hummus as chickpeas come in a glass bottle.


Day 6:


Thursday, I eat fruit salad for breakfast. Having gotten all the fruits fresh from the supermarket into paper bags. I used pineapple, apples, bananas and oranges.


For lunch we had school lunch but to be certain we did not try the salads as most of the salad leafs we have seen are covered in plastic bags.


For dinner I was planning to have a poke pole but I quickly discovered that there is no rice to be found that is not covered in plastic, tomorrow I am hoping to visit another store that I know have rice in fabric bags. I had pasta with tomato sauce.



Day 7:


Today I practically skipped breakfast because I could no longer eat avocados or eggs. I am so looking forward to being able to eat whatever I wish as long as I keep my eyes open to non-plastic solutions.


*lunch at school*


For dinner I had my poke pole with pineapple, and others fruits and vegetables. I was hoping to add tofu but I could not find any without plastic.


 

Overall this experience has been eye opening and I am hoping to be able to avoid plastics in the future even if I can't go zero plastic.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page